Warning: There are an increasing number of fraudulent websites that impersonate the ECCMID. We would like to alert all our members and delegates to be aware of possible scams and to strongly advise you to only use the official ECCMID online registration and accommodation services for your bookings.

Executive Committee

President: Prof. Mario Poljak, Slovenia

President-elect and Secretary General: Prof. Jesús Rodríguez-Baño, Spain

Publications & Communications Officer & Past President: Prof. Murat Akova, Turkey

Treasurer: Prof. Alexander W. Friedrich, Netherlands

Professional Affairs Officer: Prof. Maurizio Sanguinetti, Italy

Education Officer: Prof. Evelina Tacconelli, Germany

Scientific Affairs Officer: Prof. Annelies Zinkernagel, Switzerland

Position Address


Prof. Mario Poljak
Institute of Microbiology and Immunology
University of Ljubljana

Zaloska 4

1105 Ljubljana

Phone: + 386-1-543 7453

President-elect and Secretary General

Prof. Jesús Rodríguez-Baño
MD Sección Enfermedades Infecciosas
Hospital Universitario Virgen Macarena

Avda. Dr. Fedriani, 3

41009 Sevilla

Phone: + 34-661437062

Publications & Communications Officer & Past President

Prof. Murat Akova
MD Dept. of Infectious Diseases
Hacettepe University
School of Medicine


Phone: + 90-312-311 1271


Prof. Alexander W. Friedrich
Medical Microbiology, EB 80

Hanzeplein 1

9713 Groningen

Phone: + 31 50 361 3480

Professional Affairs Officer

Prof. Maurizio Sanguinetti
Università Cattolica del S. Cuore

Largo Francesco Vito 1

00167 Roma

Phone: + 39-06-3015 4964

Education Officer

Prof. Evelina Tacconelli
Medizinische Klinik
Universitätsklinikum Tübingen

Otfried-Müller-Straße 10

72076 Tübingen

Phone: +49 7071 29 80586

Scientific Affairs Officer

Prof. Annelies Zinkernagel
FMH Innere Medizin und FMH Infektiologie
Universitätsspital Zürich
Klinik für Infektiologie und Spitalhygiene
Ramistr. 100

8091 Zürich

Phone: + 41 44 255 93 45

Newsletter Sign Up

Get regular updates on ECCMID - sign up for our newsletter!